Premium Content

ECP decides to notify Imran’s victory on 7 NA seats

PTI is set to win the elections as they are on a political roll. PMLN has a serious disadvantage of political incumbency.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Thursday decided to issue a notification confirming PTI chief Imran Khan’s victory in by-elections on seven National Assembly seats that was earlier withheld for his alleged failure to submit details of the party’s funding to the electoral body.

A five-member ECP body headed by Chief Election Commissioner Sikander Sultan Raja announced the decision that was reserved on Dec 20 last year.

The electoral watchdog had taken notice of Imran’s failure to submit the details of the expenses incurred during the by-polls and subsequently withheld the notification of his victory over non-compliance of the commission’s orders.

The PTI chief had contested by-elections on six out of eight National Assembly seats — NA-22, NA-24, NA-31, NA-108, NA-118, and NA-239 on October 16 while the election on NA-45 was held on October 30.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Videos