Premium Content


PCB names 15-member squad for ICC World Cup 2023

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

As the International Cricket Council (ICC) Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 approaches, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Friday announced the team’s participating squad featuring star players.
Babar Azam will captain the team, while Shadab Khan remains the team’s vice-captain. Hasan Ali has been called in to replace injured pacer Naseem Shah.

Ali, however, will be returning to one-day international (ODI) cricket after a year-long hiatus following his last appearance against West Indies in Multan in 2022.
Chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq unveiled the squad at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium.

Three travelling reserves have been named, including wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad Haris, mystery spinner Abrar Ahmed and fast bowler Zaman Khan.
“The World Cup is the most important event in any cricketer’s life, and I want to congratulate all the cricketers who have made it to the squad through their impressive performances,” the chief selector said.
He noted that the team has performed wonderfully well over the last couple of years, which is why “we have shown faith in the same bunch.”
The ICC World Cup 2023 in India with ten teams fighting for the elusive title across ten venues from October 5 to November 19, with the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad hosting the tournament opener and the final.
The Cricket World Cup will be played for 45 league matches.
The top four teams will qualify for the semifinals, which will be held in Mumbai on November 15 and Kolkata on November 16. The semifinals and the final will have reserve days.
Hoping for Pakistan’s victory in the mega cricket tournament and the team making the nation proud with their “incredible performances”, Inzamam emphasised supporting the Babar-led squad.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *